SHRM Foundation Scholarships and Award News

SHRM Foundation Scholarships for SHRM Members Application Deadline: July 15, 2011 Applications for 2011 will be available April 1, 2011. Read more about current scholarships and awards.

SHRM Foundation Scholarships and Awards 
For SHRM Professional Members / For Student Members and Advisors / For Ph.D. Students and Researchers

Hear past scholarship winners tell their stories. Watch video now.

SHRM Foundation Scholarships for SHRM Members
Application Deadline: July 15, 2011  Applications for 2011 will be available April 1, 2011.
Download a 2011 Scholarship Brochure.

Click here to view application instructions and more information. 

This program is generously underwritten by the J. J. Keller Foundation.

The SHRM Foundation awards a total of $100,000 annually in scholarships for SHRM members pursuing degrees in HR-related fields or SPHR, GPHR, PHR or California certification. Members working in the media industry and pursuing a college degree are eligible to apply for a Barbara Sanchez Scholarship. 

In addition, SHRM professional chapters and state councils are eligible to compete for the Certification scholarship to fund programs that promote SPHR, GPHR, PHR or California certification. (Note: 'SHRM members' includes professional, general or associate members. Student members, student chapters and local-only members of chapters are not eligible for this scholarship program.)

80 Certification Scholarships ($750 each)
20 Academic Scholarships ($2,000 each)
5   Barbara Sanchez Scholarships ($1,500 each)

All applications must be submitted online. You may begin the online application process after April 1, save your work and then complete the process at a later date. Your application must be completed and submitted by July 15 to be considered for an award. 

Online Applications and Instructions
Award Criteria and FAQs

2011 Scholarship Flyer for Distribution
Past Award Winners-Sorted by Region and State
View 2010 Scholarship Winners
View 2009 Scholarship Winners
View 2008 Scholarship Winners
View 2007 Scholarship Winners
View 2006 Scholarship Winners

National Academy of HR (NAHR) - Ram Charan HR Essay Contest- Application deadline: June 15, 2011

Susan R. Meisinger Fellowship for Graduate Study in HR- Application deadline: April 1, 2011

To be eligible to apply, an HR professional must be a first-time master’s student seeking a degree in HR and must meet at least one of the following criteria: 1) be a member of SHRM or 2) hold a professional certification (e.g., PHR, SPHR or GPHR certification) from the HR Certification Institute.

Awards for SHRM Student Members and Advisors
SHRM Foundation Student Scholarship Program
More than $50,000 will be awarded in scholarships for graduate and undergraduate education, as well as the new Assurance of Learning exam. 40 Scholarships are available. Note new application deadline: December 1.

The 2010 application period is now closed. Applications for 2011 will be available August 1, 2011.
Click here to view application instructions and more information.   

2010 Scholarship Winners
2009 Scholarship Winners
2008 Scholarship Winners

Advisor of the Year Award
Recognize an outstanding SHRM student chapter advisor. Nominate him or her for the Advisor of the Year Award.

Research Awards
SHRM Foundation Dissertation Awards
In partnership with the HR Division of the Academy of Management, the Foundation presents four $5000 awards each year to support the dissertation research of promising doctoral candidates. Application deadline: May 1, 2011.

View Past Dissertation Award Winners

Visit the Academy of Management website

Michael R. Losey Human Resource Research Award   

This premier $50,000 award from the Michael R. Losey endowment fund recognizes significant research contributions that impact the human resource management field.  Application deadline: January 28, 2011